Hiking

Hiking helps people shed excess pounds, helps prevent hypertension or high blood pressure, and help prevent or control diabetes. Taking the time to hike on a regular basis can also help improve arthritis and relieve back pain, which has become increasingly more prevalent in today’s society. Read more at Suite101: The Benefits of Hiking: Take to the Trail for Numerous Benefits http://www.suite101.com/content/the-benefits-of-hiking-a113328#ixzz13mZ65TXe

MacCready Reserve Trail Run/Hike

Event Start Date: 
Sat, 12/01/2012 - 9:00am

Jackson Area Outdoor Meetup Group:

Saturday, December 1 from 9am - 12:00noon

Join a group of outdoor enthusiasts for a run or hike on the trails at MacCready Reserve.  

Nice bathroom facilities and 3 different loops available to run or hike.

http://www.meetup.com/Jackson-Area-Outdoor-Meetup-Group/events/92325642/...

 

FREE Knee-High Naturalist Demo

Event Start Date: 
Wed, 02/08/2012 - 9:30am

 

Knee-High Naturalist 

w/Carrie Benham (Dahlem) & Teresa Dukes (The Yoga Center)

FREE Nature Hike at Dahlem

Event Start Date: 
Wed, 02/08/2012 - 9:30am

 

he Wild  Take a Walk on the Wild Side!

 

Hike at the Dahlem Center

Event Start Date: 
Sat, 12/03/2011 - 11:00am

A group from Meetup will be hiking at the Dahlem Nature Conservancy. 

Saturday, December 3 at 11:00am

$3 for non-members

Hike at Waterloo

Event Start Date: 
Sat, 11/26/2011 - 2:00pm

5 mile hike in the Waterloo Recreation Area

Walk To School Day

Event Start Date: 
Wed, 10/05/2011 - 7:00am

International Walk To School Day - October 5th

Join kids and families around the globe to walk and bicycle to school in October!

Communities are using the walk or bike to school as the first step to change community culture and create environments that are more inviting for everyone, young and old. Here are some reasons to support walking and biking to school:

To enhance the health of kids
Increased physical activity can combat a host of health problems facing kids today.

Hike at MacCready Reserve

Event Start Date: 
Sat, 06/04/2011 (All day)
Sat, 06/11/2011 (All day)
Sat, 06/18/2011 (All day)
Sat, 06/25/2011 (All day)
Sat, 07/02/2011 (All day)
Sat, 07/09/2011 (All day)
Sat, 07/16/2011 (All day)
Sat, 07/23/2011 (All day)
Sat, 07/30/2011 (All day)
Sat, 08/06/2011 (All day)

Enjoy a hike at MacCready Reserve at 11am every Saturday.

Dahlem Nature Hikes

Event Start Date: 
Tue, 10/04/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 10/11/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 10/18/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 10/25/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 11/01/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 11/08/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 11/15/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 11/22/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 11/29/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 12/06/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 12/13/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 12/20/2011 - 9:00am
Tue, 12/27/2011 - 9:00am

Guided Nature Hikes - Join Dahlem staff for an educational and rewarding hike on Dahlem's five miles of scenic trails in search of our seasonal fauna and flora.  Please wear appropriate outdoor attire and hiking shoes. Binoculars suggested but not required.

Every Tuesday from 9:00-11:00am at Dahlem Conservancy Center, 7117 South Jackson Road